The Custer County Kids Council exists to help improve available services for young children and families by building a seamless network of early childhood providers through partnerships.

Perspectives and ideas from our nonprofit and healthcare organizations, school district, businesses, parents, and others in our community enrich our collaborative work and result in greater access for more children.The CCKC helps leverage and maximize resources, creates a sense of shared responsibility, and builds capacity to ensure sustainable early childhood support in our community.

It is ALL about partnerships within the Custer County community.

The Custer County Kids Council began as an informal meeting of organizations that provide activities, services and education for young children and families. From that meeting, a collaborative partnership formed to create an early childhood council to support our local organizations and help them communicate effectively with our community and one another.

CCKC Board Members and SupporterS

The CCKC Board and Supporters represent an important cross-section of our community. Please consider joining the CCKC as a board member, supporter or volunteer. Your participation will make a difference in the lives of young children and have a positive impact the future of our community.

Our CCKC Members

  • Elliott, Dustin - Starpoint; EI Director, Steering Committee Member

  • Clark, Kathy - CCKC Chair

  • Green, Elizabeth - Retired Nurse, CCKC Secretary

  • Sandstedt, Erika - Solvista Mental Health, Steering Committee Member

  • Jenkins, Lori - Kindred Kids Child Advocacy Center

  • Lockhart, Laura - Custer County Human Services; DHS Director

  • McCaffery, Angela - WCC Library; Youth Services Coordinator

  • Crabtree, Jackie - Custer County School District C1 Superintendent

  • Newcomb, Doreen - Retired Teacher

  • Philia, Kim - Colorado Family Guidance

  • Wyatt, Sherry - Custer County Public Health, Immunization Nurse

  • Shehorn, Angela - Director-Children First; CCR&R coordinator

  • Caldwell, Michelle - Parent representative

  • Bertelsen, Sara - Custer County School District C1 Nurse

  • Henderson, Carolina - Custer County School District C1 Early Childhood Director

  • Benson, Jordan - Custer County School District C1 School Board Member

  • Pryor, Amber - SC-BOCES, Director of Special Education

Our CCKC supporters

  • Jackson, Elliot - WCPA-Jones Theater

  • Laurila, Linnea - Sangres Art Guild; Art Encounters for Children

  • Newton, Fawnda - Counselor

  • Day, Kevin - Custer County Board of County Commissioners

  • Sydney Benesch - C-1 School District Assistant Principal

Our steering committee

  • Kathy Clark–CHAIR

  • Open– VICE-CHAIR

  • Beth Green – SECRETARY

  • Stacy Terrill-CCKC Coordinator

  • Laurie Yarger- CCKC Community Engagement Coordinator

  • Rachel Curtis- CCKC Finance/Marketing Coordinator